Colorado’s Recreational Pot Shops

Posted Michelle Jones May. 15, 2014 @ 11:17 am

 On January 1, Colorado begin allowing recreational pot sales  to anyone age 21 or over.

Residents will be able to buy marijuana like alcohol — except the cannabis purchase is limited to an ounce, which can cost about $200 or more.

Colorado will become the first state in the nation to open recreational pot shops and become the first place in the world where marijuana will be regulated from seed to sale.By the way, according to the marijuana reform group NORML, pot is the third most popular recreational drug in America, after alcohol and tobacco,

Here are things to know about what will be a closely watched landmark law.

Medical

Colorado’s recreational pot shops can begin sales in 2014.

Voters wanted this. And the law is now in the Colorado constitution after 65% of voters said yes to legalizing recreational marijuana.

Colorado wasn’t the only state to OK this in November 2012. Voters in Washington also said yes, but that state won’t open marijuana retail outlets until later in 2014.

There are the usual “legalize it” arguments about how pot is less dangerous than alcohol or tobacco and how legalization would save taxpayers $10 billion yearly on enforcing the prohibition.

LPRS

Click on the banner above to learn how BIG BROTHER is spying on you illegally.

Then there’s the reality we all know: There will be a tax bonanza to public treasuries.

Colorado’s Recreational Pot Shops will have a 25% state tax — plus the usual state sales tax of 2.9% — making recreational pot one of the most heavily taxed consumer products in Colorado. Some communities are adding even more taxes to the products they will sell in their recreational pot shops.

State tax officials say, the additional revenue will initially amount to $67 million a year, with $27.5 million of it designated to build schools.

Medical-Marijuana

So why bother with separate medical marijuana?

Buyers of medical pot won’t face the additional taxes.

Medicinal weed in Colorado still requires a physician’s recommendation, and the dispensaries will be separate outlets from the recreational pot shops.

How much recreational pot can I buy in Colorado’s recreational Pot Shops?

If you are 21 or older, you can buy up to an ounce at a licensed store, as long as you have a Colorado ID. People from outside Colorado can buy a quarter ounce.

Only a handful of stores, however, are expected to open on January 1, and Denver will be home to many of them. In fact, there are concerns that supplies will be sold out on the first day, with so few stores having passed the lengthy licensing process so far. About 160 retailers are still seeking licenses statewide.

Recreational pot users can also share an ounce of cannabis with a friend as long as no money is exchanged.

where

Where can I light up?

You won’t be allowed to smoke pot in public and, in fact, can’t even smoke in the pot shop or other establishments governed by the state’s Clean Indoor Air Act.

That leaves the smoking to private properties, with the owner’s permission.

Communities and counties can still choose not to allow recreational marijuana stores in their local jurisdictions, and a good many towns have, such as Colorado Springs and Greeley.

Ski resorts are concerned about scofflaws lighting up while on the slopes, with smoke intruding on family settings.

grow

Can I grow my own?

Yes, you can grow up to six plants in your home, but the pot patch must be enclosed and locked.

kid busted

Can the underage get busted for pot?

Yes, it’s illegal to possess and use marijuana if you’re under 21, but the city of Denver this month decriminalized pot for people between ages 18 and 21. The city would keep the fines — but remove the jail time — for being caught with an ounce or less. The potential jail time had been up to a year.

Youths under age 18 could be sent to a juvenile assessment center, instead of jail. Councilman Albus Brooks said in a Denver Post article, the measure ensures kids “don’t have to live into adulthood with mistakes they might have made when they were 19.”

dui check point

What about DUI?

A motorist in Colorado can be ticketed for impaired driving if his or her blood shows more than 5 nanograms of active THC, the active constituent of marijuana, NORML says on its website.

Some users will fall below that level three hours after consuming pot, but “some people will still be well above 5 ng,” NORML says. “Do recognize that the effects of alcohol and marijuana together may be more than the sum of their parts.”

Some analysts describe impairment as a guessing game, depending on the person.

 

DUI Animation
 

 

Filed under: Uncategorized

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!